Good Baby Stuff



Is the Jolly Jumper better than an Exersaucer?

 

Check me out in my Jolly Jumper! I'm flying sideways.

Check me out in my Jolly Jumper! I'm flying sideways.

Actually, I don’t necessarily think that a Jolly Jumper is better than an Exersaucer. I never bought an Exersaucer for Cillian because you’ve got to draw the line somewhere in terms of space and cash.

C has always loved to kick his legs, he still does, and I don’t mean soft little pads, I mean hard thumps, the kind that will give you a fat lip if you don’t watch it. I didn’t want to shell out so much for the Exersaucer, as they start at about $80 as far as I can tell, and take up a whackload of space, so Jolly Jumper it was. 

We live in an old house with extra-thick door moulding, so I wasn’t sure that the door-mount version of the Jolly Jumper would even hang properly on said doors, plus those old wooden door frames could be crumbly for all I know, so I got the Jolly Jumper on the stand. It’s more expensive ($70 versus $40), but Toys R Us had a sale that was $20 off.

C loved it right away. He jumped cautiously at first, but then phoom! Straight into the air. Every night he goes in it at 8pm for about 30 to 50 minutes, before he goes to sleep. He can pivot, stop (he stamps his feet) and he taught himself how to do little hops on it as well as giant leaps. It’s really cute to watch. Getting him on it though is a two person job, so I have to wait till my husband is home to put him in it. Just as well, he’s mostly napping or eating or out for a walk with me during daytime hours.

-GBS

What Cillian did yesterday: Two long naps on the bed, on his left side. Ate at my grandmother’s house the broccoli, chicken and rice she cooked. Loved playing with everyone there, he fell asleep right away on the drive home (but woke up later). At night, pretended to be asleep on his tummy by closing his eyes, then played a trick on us by popping up like a jack-in-a-box.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Hooray for the borrowed Exersaucer! « Good Baby Stuff pingbacked on 8 years, 4 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

